Wiki Auto-Save currently editing page
It would be nice to have the currently edited page auto-saved every once and a while, so that changes are not lost inadvertently.
Unfortunately, this can lead to wiki-history bloat. A possible solution to this is to have "minor-revisions" to pages. These could be "flushed" periodically from the wiki-DB, as they would only be used as temporary placeholders before a user "saves" their edits to their page.
Actually, in thinking this through, i can see that this might lead to clobbering of other users work, if two users are editing the same page at the same time... Could the auto-save save the changes locally, at least? Just so that the work is not lost if the user's browser goes down, or something...
#1 Updated by Axel Voitier about 9 years ago
I had a similar though about that some days ago, when I was chatting with a user of Twiki. Twiki got a feature to invisibly edit a revision. I am totally against such thing. But the user was using it to temporary save his work.
I rewrote the use case and plan to develop the following feature for my Redmine use (but not for the moment):
As it is often that when editing a wiki page we want to save modifications without publishing them publicly (don't publish unfinished/unstable work), a "save in working copy" action would benefit wiki edition.Behaviour would be:
- having a specific option or button to save an edited wiki page that:
- save the edited content on the server
- does not produce any new revision of the page
- is strictly private and re-editable only by the user itself
- when edition work is over, a traditional save action publish a new revision of the page, dated at this precise moment (and not timed when we did a previous "save to working copy" action
- if conflict with a new revision happens (someone(s) else published new revision(s) since we firstly edited the working copy), then:
- show differences between head revision and edited revision, but without local changes made in the working copy
- propose an edition possibility to merge the working copy changes with head revision changes
#9 Updated by N Bischof almost 7 years ago
I agree, this is must-have feature.
What about a button "Save Minor Changes" (as confluence has it), but which:
- is only visible if the user has locked the issue (or wiki page), and
- if pressed, saves the current changes without modification emails
The first condition prevents us from conflicts when 2 user update the same issue.
Modification emails still may be sent once the user unlocks the issue.