Feature #6666

Soft delete of issues

Added by leigh gawne over 7 years ago. Updated 6 months ago.

Status:NewStart date:2010-10-14
Priority:NormalDue date:
Assignee:-% Done:

0%

Category:Issues
Target version:-
Resolution:

Description

Currently, deleting issues from the system results in their permanent deletion from the Remine database. From a tracability perspective, this is not ideal. Perhaps a setting to decide whether deleting na issue should hard delete it from the database, or soft delete it (such that it is recoverable through some mechanism) would be useful. In the case of soft deletions, you could also have an administrator option to "purge" the database of soft deletions, essesntially hard deleting them.


Related issues

Related to Redmine - Feature #1380: Deleting an issue only marks it as being deleted New 2008-06-05
Related to Redmine - Feature #7900: Restore issue New 2011-03-17
Related to Redmine - Feature #18027: Notification when deleting an issue New
Duplicated by Redmine - Feature #8942: Soft deletion of ticket Reopened 2011-07-29
Duplicated by Redmine - Defect #12585: About the deleted Issues Closed
Duplicated by Redmine - Feature #16465: Feature needed to show deleted tracker & can add them again Closed
Duplicated by Redmine - Feature #21618: Seperation of delete with physical delete Closed

History

#1 Updated by Felix Schäfer over 7 years ago

You can use a status called "rejected" for example for issues that were not acted upon but that should not be deleted.

#2 Updated by Anonymous over 7 years ago

I think he means that they would be removed from the users view (a rejected issue would still appear with strike out) and the admin can bring it back.
Kind of like a trash bin for issues.

I agree a bit with the safety buffer, but I solved it mostly by disallowing anyone but admins to delete issues...

#3 Updated by Doug Barth over 7 years ago

We accidentally had one of our issues permanently deleted. I disabled the delete issue option for now, but I second the request for a soft delete within the system.

#4 Updated by Toshi MARUYAMA about 7 years ago

  • Category set to Issues

#5 Updated by Terence Mill almost 7 years ago

+1

#6 Updated by Pierluigi Soana almost 7 years ago

+1

#7 Updated by wilson l almost 7 years ago

+1

#8 Updated by Stas Pozdnyakov over 6 years ago

+1

#9 Updated by Wicola Lation over 6 years ago

+1

#10 Updated by Fares Abdullah about 6 years ago

+1

This caused a small crisis for us. We couldn't easily roll back to the last hourly backup either, as we'd lose all new changes in the last hour.

The "delete" button is too easy to hit as an admin in a moment of distraction thinking you cliked another button: "click - press enter - poof gone". See #8942

#11 Updated by Deoren Moor over 5 years ago

+1

Had someone do this today and it would have been great to have this feature to fall back on.

#12 Updated by Michelle H over 4 years ago

+1

#13 Updated by mnredmine mnredmine over 4 years ago

Fares Abdullah wrote:

The "delete" button is too easy to hit as an admin in a moment of distraction thinking you cliked another button: "click - press enter - poof gone".

Exactly! I did this on friday. I know It's my fault but who on earth has designed such an awful UI and no "trash bin"?

+1

#14 Updated by Lázaro Hermoso over 4 years ago

+1. It is useful in case of deletion mistake and shit happens.

Additional related issues:
#1380
#7900

#15 Updated by Toshi MARUYAMA over 4 years ago

  • Related to Feature #1380: Deleting an issue only marks it as being deleted added

#16 Updated by Toshi MARUYAMA over 4 years ago

#17 Updated by Andrew X over 4 years ago

Lázaro Hermoso wrote:

+1. It is useful in case of deletion mistake and shit happens.

Additional related issues:
#1380
#7900

Hard to believe this issue is still open. Here a comment in a issue was the intention of the deletion, and the whole issue ended up deleted. No-rollback, un-delete, soft-delete? Def useful option. No neg on the RM UI, it just requires a little tweak.

#18 Updated by Luciano Barcellos about 4 years ago

+1. I've just joined the group of those who made a deletion mistake. I was trying to remove just a comment, too.

#19 Updated by Jean-Philippe Lang about 4 years ago

  • Duplicates Feature #16465: Feature needed to show deleted tracker & can add them again added

#20 Updated by Jean-Philippe Lang about 4 years ago

  • Duplicates deleted (Feature #16465: Feature needed to show deleted tracker & can add them again)

#21 Updated by Jean-Philippe Lang about 4 years ago

  • Duplicated by Feature #16465: Feature needed to show deleted tracker & can add them again added

#22 Updated by Kevin Palm about 4 years ago

+1

#23 Updated by Stefan Tatschner about 4 years ago

+1

#24 Updated by Igor Panassiouk almost 4 years ago

Useful and sometimes necessary feature.

I use many roles in my installations and "Project Manager" and/or "Project Admin" should have a permission to delete issue.
But for QA and audit purposes I'd prefer to restore and move such issues to special project, for example.

#26 Updated by Toshi MARUYAMA over 3 years ago

  • Related to Feature #18027: Notification when deleting an issue added

#27 Updated by Rob Taft about 3 years ago

+1 Just accidentally deleted a ticket thinking I was deleting a duplicate comment. There was no division between the last comment and the delete.

#28 Updated by Matthew Palencia almost 3 years ago

I hope this will be fixed.
Had a bad time this 'delete' button today.
It looks like delete a comment, but it deleted the whole issue,
the bad thing it's physical delete :(

#29 Updated by pee pee almost 3 years ago

+1

I thought the delete button was for the update (it is located under the last update!!) and whoops my whole issue and al its updates are gone!!
please fix!!

another tip/request: the "edit" button should better be called "update", I initially thought it was for editing the issue descrition (the first colored part of the issue, before the updates)

tx!!

#30 Updated by Go MAEDA over 2 years ago

  • Duplicated by Feature #21618: Seperation of delete with physical delete added

#31 Updated by Anh Le Giang over 2 years ago

+1

#32 Updated by Fred B over 1 year ago

How can we emphasize more.. This needs to be fixed.

I just lost 3 issues and there nos way top know wjhat happen and restore them back!

+!1!!

#33 Updated by Maicon Zucco about 1 year ago

+1

#34 Updated by Ignacio Soler 10 months ago

+1!

added 7 years ago ... it's starting to stink ...

#35 Updated by Jason Togneri 8 months ago

+1, I've also done the deleted comment thing where I deleted an issue by mistake (only once so far though). Would love to see this feature, or at least a safety mechanism of some sort. Any hope?

#36 Updated by Karl Wilbur 6 months ago

It seems that this is a duplicate of #1380, which itself is over 9 years old.

Also available in: Atom PDF