Defect #8770

Misleading 'Back' button on 'My Page' personalization screen

Added by Denis Savitskiy over 6 years ago. Updated 7 months ago.

Status:ClosedStart date:2011-07-08
Priority:NormalDue date:
Assignee:-% Done:

0%

Category:My pageEstimated time:0.10 hour
Target version:-
Resolution: Affected version:

Description

I think, the button 'Back' must be 'Save' and class 'icon icon-cancel' must be 'icon icon-save'.

cancel_my_page_v0.1.diff Magnifier - First Patch (6.99 KB) Daniel Felix, 2012-12-15 14:31

History

#1 Updated by Alex Shulgin over 6 years ago

Denis Savitsky wrote:

I think, the button 'Back' must be 'Save' and class 'icon icon-cancel' must be 'icon icon-save'.

There's no 'Back' button on /my/page. You must be talking about /my/page_layout, and yes it would make sense to change it to read 'Save'.

#2 Updated by Denis Savitskiy over 6 years ago

Like this:

  <div class="contextual">
    ..
    <%= link_to l(:button_save), {:action => 'page'}, :class => 'icon icon-save' %>
  </div>

#3 Updated by Etienne Massip over 6 years ago

  • Target version set to Candidate for next minor release

Indeed, it makes think of it as a Cancel button actually.

#4 Updated by Etienne Massip over 6 years ago

  • Subject changed from The button 'Back' on my page to Misleading 'Back' button on 'My Page' personalization screen

There should be two buttons : 'Apply' and 'Cancel'.

#5 Updated by Denis Savitskiy over 5 years ago

Etienne Massip wrote:

There should be two buttons : 'Apply' and 'Cancel'.

Is it implemented?

#6 Updated by Tobias Fischer almost 5 years ago

Denis Savitsky wrote:

Is it implemented?

Not yet.
But +1 on this issue!

#7 Updated by Daniel Felix almost 5 years ago

Alex Shulgin wrote:

There's no 'Back' button on /my/page. You must be talking about /my/page_layout, and yes it would make sense to change it to read 'Save'.

Hi,

well I don't think, that it makes much sense to change this to save and/or cancel.

I checked the code, and there is no save action behind this button. My Page is automatically saved on each change (add, delete, order) on a widget. In this context, the back button is pretty right.

Or do you want to have a save/cancel functionality. This means you can change something and still click on cancel and discard your changes?

Best regards,
Daniel

#8 Updated by Daniel Felix almost 5 years ago

Hi there,

I changed my page based on r11000. See attached patched.

I'm not sure if this is the best solution, but I tested it and it worked for me.

The MyPage now supports an edit state and some applied state. You can add some widgets and close it without loosing changes.

Please try it and give some feedback.

Best regards,
Daniel

#9 Updated by Julian S. Luipold over 4 years ago

+1

#10 Updated by Daniel Felix over 4 years ago

  • Target version changed from Candidate for next minor release to 2.3.1

This could be also implemented by truncating the latest changes and renaming back to cancel.
Just the truncating of the latest changes could be a little bit tricky as every action currently cause a save.

#11 Updated by Jean-Philippe Lang over 4 years ago

  • Target version changed from 2.3.1 to Candidate for next major release

I think that the Cancel option is a bit overkill and I don't like storing temporary data in user preferences so much. The cancel option used to exist (layout was stored in session) but it was removed in r3194. I don't know if it's worth restoring it.

#12 Updated by Denis Savitskiy almost 3 years ago

Daniel Felix wrote:

This could be also implemented by truncating the latest changes and renaming back to cancel.
Just the truncating of the latest changes could be a little bit tricky as every action currently cause a save.

It's not worth it, i think. The main idea of this issue was in meaning of "back" button, that it is not clear, what is going to happen. Will the data be saved or not?

#13 Updated by JW Fuchs about 1 year ago

+1
Several of our users have also complained about the misleading name of the "back" button. "Apply" or simply "OK" / "Done" would be much more fitting.

#14 Updated by Marius BALTEANU 8 months ago

Same issue in our company too.

"Apply" suggests that without pressing it, your changes won't be saved.

What about "Close" (which already exists in the translations)?

#15 Updated by Marius BALTEANU 7 months ago

My page personalization was removed in #25297. This issue can be closed.

#16 Updated by Jean-Philippe Lang 7 months ago

  • Status changed from New to Closed
  • Target version deleted (Candidate for next major release)

Also available in: Atom PDF