Feature #23610

Updated by Go MAEDA about 1 year ago

ATM, when copying an issue *A* to an issue *B*, the user can choose between 2 statuses :
- The status from *A* (which is selected by default)
- The default status of current tracker from *B*

But this can lead to problems :
- *B* may be in a status that the user can't interact with
- It allows user to skip parts of a workflow
- _(Specific)_ This leads to unintended cases, which mess up things like external data exports or billing

They can manually change the status of *B* during the copy, but from my experience, they don't (the status is reset on about 10% of copied issues only)
This behaviour should be set in the _Administration panel_.

The patch is attached, and here's the corresponding commit : https://github.com/vincent-clipet/redmine/commit/45335d4e9e7d7d4aa89dbc282c52dc1b0368b116

It adds a configuration setting (_reset_issue_status_on_copy_). When checked, all copied issues statuses are forced to the default status of the current tracker.

This fixes :
#17576 https://www.redmine.org/issues/17576
#10601 https://www.redmine.org/issues/10601
#1551 https://www.redmine.org/issues/1551
#10348 https://www.redmine.org/issues/10348 (Partially)
#16230 https://www.redmine.org/issues/16230 (Partially)

Back