Defect #3589

User removed from project - still getting project update emails

Added by Galaxy King over 8 years ago. Updated almost 8 years ago.

Status:ClosedStart date:2009-07-06
Priority:NormalDue date:
Assignee:-% Done:

0%

Category:Email notifications
Target version:0.9.0
Resolution:Fixed Affected version:0.8.7

Description

When a user is added and removed from the project, after removing the user from project - he still keep on getting email regarding that project.

- Create project
- Add user 1
- Add user 2
- Add user 3
- Enabled "Message Add" in Admin
- Create form and start conversation
- Email goes to all user's
- Remove user 2 from project
- Email is still going to user 2 about form updates, even user 2 is not part of the project.


Related issues

Related to Redmine - Patch #4263: Users getting notifications for issues they cannot view Closed 2009-11-22
Duplicated by Redmine - Defect #4385: User removed from the project, but following receiving no... Closed 2009-12-11

Associated revisions

Revision 3121
Added by Jean-Philippe Lang almost 8 years ago

Do not notify users that are no longer allowed to view an issue (#3589, #4263).

Revision 3167
Added by Jean-Philippe Lang almost 8 years ago

Makes user unwatch what he can no longer view after its permissions have changed (#3589).
A rake task (redmine:watchers:prune) is also added to prune existing watchers.

Revision 3169
Added by Jean-Philippe Lang almost 8 years ago

Make sure users don't get notified for thing they can not view (#3589).

History

#1 Updated by Jean-Philippe Lang over 8 years ago

I think user 2 is still watching the ticket. That's why he receives emails about updates.
Can you check ?

#2 Updated by Galaxy King over 8 years ago

Yes, you are right - once the user2 was removed from project, issue which were watched by user2 did not remove him.

Issues - one can see who is watching and can be removed
Forum's - if i post a message in forum, user2 is still getting the message, after i removed user2 from the project.

But, all in all, you are right. It has to do something with "watching" status.

Thanks - let me know if more testing is required.

#3 Updated by Galaxy King over 8 years ago

Galaxy King wrote:

Yes, you are right - once the user2 was removed from project, issue which were watched by user2 did not remove him.

Issues - one can see who is watching and can be removed
Forum's - if i post a message in forum, user2 is still getting the message, after i removed user2 from the project.

But, all in all, you are right. It has to do something with "watching" status.

Thanks - let me know if more testing is required.

Also, is there a way for admin to remove users from watched list? Thanks

#4 Updated by Jean-Philippe Lang almost 8 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Closed
  • Target version set to 0.9.0
  • Affected version (unused) set to 0.8.7
  • Resolution set to Fixed
  • Affected version set to 0.8.7

Fixed in r3167. Changing user permission now removes watchers lists accordingly.
You can use the following task to prune existing watchers from your database:

rake redmine:watchers:prune RAILS_ENV=production

Also available in: Atom PDF