Patch #18191

Update time zones for Russia once again

Added by Ilya Demenkov over 8 years ago. Updated over 8 years ago.

Status:ClosedStart date:
Priority:NormalDue date:
Assignee:-% Done:


Category:Gems support
Target version:-


Starting October 26, 2014 Russia is changing its time zones again. All of Russia will move back one hour, except:

  • Udmurtia and Samara Oblast will remain on UTC+04:00 (thus reinstating Samara Time)
  • Kemerovo Oblast will remain on UTC+07:00
  • Zabaykalsky Krai will move back two hours to UTC+08:00
  • Magadan Oblast will move back two hours to UTC+10:00
  • Chukotka Autonomous Okrug and Kamchatka Krai will remain on UTC+12:00 (thus reinstating Kamchatka Time)

For example, Moscow will move from UTC+4 back to UTC+3 it used before 2011.

Annual DST changes will not be observed. Further information availble at

Please release a patch to update time zones and please include it to the next version.


#1 Updated by Ilya Demenkov over 8 years ago

See also: Defect #10808; Defect #9801

#2 Updated by Jean-Philippe Lang over 8 years ago

  • Category set to Gems support
  • Status changed from New to Closed

Time zones are handled by the tzinfo and tzinfo-data gems:

You should either install or update the tzinfo-data gem to get the latest updates.

Also available in: Atom PDF