Project

General

Profile

How to Change Project Repositories?

Added by Johnny Stork about 15 years ago

I had previously setup a demo RM install for managers and now that I am moving into production I need to change the SVN repo that a project uses. However, the "SVN" and "URL" blocks are grey'd out when I go to Administration, Project then Repository. However, there is a "Users" link at the bottom right, and next to that is a "Delete" button. I am not clear what would be "Deleted" so I thought I better be safe and check here first. Will this simply delete the SVN repository linked to the project so I can add another? Or is there some other way to point a project to a new repository?


Replies (2)

RE: How to Change Project Repositories? - Added by Eric Davis about 15 years ago

Johnny Stork wrote:

I am not clear what would be "Deleted" so I thought I better be safe and check here first. Will this simply delete the SVN repository linked to the project so I can add another? Or is there some other way to point a project to a new repository?

Yes, it will only delete the link between the repository and the project (and remove Redmine's cache of the Repository's content). Deleting shouldn't affect the actual repository storage (e.g. the svn repository files). If you're unsure, backup first and then perform the delete.

Eric

RE: How to Change Project Repositories? - Added by Anton Wiedermann over 9 years ago

When deleting repositories for relocation make sure that you do not have any manually created links between changes and issues (were not available at the time of this question but are now) or links which were created by another than current pattern (we moved from #xyz to rm #xyz to reduce false links). You will lose link data with delete-recreate instead of relocate.

Best that can be done is direct update in redmine database

UPDATE repositories SET url='newurl', root_url='newurlroot' WHERE url='oldurl';

    (1-2/2)