How to remove user from project without loosing his assigning to tasks

Added by Krzysztof Ziajor over 2 years ago

I have situations where I have to add user to project for only few tasks. When all tasks are done then I want to remove this user from project.
But when I do this than all assignings are lost. So historically I don't have information for which tasks this user was responsible.

Is there any chance to solve this problem. After some months or years I will have many users which don't work for me and this becomes unreadable.

Replies (3)

RE: How to remove user from project without loosing his assigning to tasks - Added by Krzysztof Ziajor over 2 years ago

As I see the assigning is not removed. That's good. But name of the user is not present in issue details.

RE: How to remove user from project without loosing his assigning to tasks - Added by Bernhard Rohloff over 2 years ago

Hi Krzysztof,

here are some questions which answers might help solving your problem...

  1. What exactly do you mean with name of the user is not present in issue details?
  2. What's your expected result?
  3. Do you have some screenshots?
  4. What version of Redmine are you talking about?

Kind regards,

Bernhard

RE: How to remove user from project without loosing his assigning to tasks - Added by Goran Hasse 10 months ago

Krzysztof Ziajor wrote:

I have situations where I have to add user to project for only few tasks. When all tasks are done then I want to remove this user from project.
But when I do this than all assignings are lost. So historically I don't have information for which tasks this user was responsible.

Is there any chance to solve this problem. After some months or years I will have many users which don't work for me and this becomes unreadable.

There is now way to "delete" a user from a project - but it is possible to delete the user from redmine compleatly, as administrator.
And I consider it a conceptual "bugg" in readmine. A user should not be deleted from a project just "locked".

You should never delete anything from a database. Just mark it "locked" or "historic". Else you loose history.

// GH

P.S.
I must correct myself. If a user is a project that inherrits it members you can't "remove" och "lock" the user. You should be
able to "lock" the user.

(1-3/3)