RedmineRoles » History » Version 2
Roles & permissions¶
Roles lets you define the permissions that the members have on a project. Each member of a project has a one Role for the project. A user can have different roles for different projects.
You can create new roles or edit existing ones. You can delete a role only if nobody has this role on a project.
- Name: display name of the role
- Issues can be assigned to this role: if unchecked, issues can not be assigned to members with this role on a project.
When editing a role, you can define its permissions by checking/unchecking the different actions.
There are 2 system roles in Redmine: 'Non member' and 'Anonymous'. They are internally used by Redmine and thus can not be deleted.
- Non member: this role lets you define the permissions that a registered user has on projects which he is not a member of.
- Anonymous: this role lets you define the permissions that anonymous users have on the projects.
Not that these permissions only apply to public projects since a user who is not a member of a private project can not even see it.