Project

General

Profile

Actions

Feature #39839

closed

Delete users documentation

Added by Donald Martin 6 months ago. Updated 6 months ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
Documentation
Target version:
-
Start date:
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
Resolution:
Fixed

Description

Hi

I see this message when deleting users "Are you sure you want to delete this user and remove all references to them? This cannot be undone. Often, locking a user instead of deleting them is the better solution"

So I've been looking to see what the references are and wether it affects our setup, I would preferably delete users than have an endless list of locked users. Looking at this link it looks to be well out of date https://www.redmine.org/projects/redmine/wiki/RedmineUsers#Deleting-a-User - can it be updated detailing what is lost when a user is deleted?

Thanks

Donald

Actions #1

Updated by Holger Just 6 months ago

Generally, all references to the user (e.g. any authorship references of issues, journals, wiki pages, ..., issues assigned to the user, or any other any changes done by the user) will be changed to refer to the Anonymous user. Thus, issues which were created by the deleted user will then show uip as being created by Anonymous.

All other associated data (such as the user record itself, their saved preferences, any saved tokens or keys for the user, their project memberships...) will be deleted. This only affects data which solely belongs to the user itself. Project data they added will be preserved and attributed to the Anonymous user as explained above.

Actions #2

Updated by Mohit Kumar 6 months ago

  • File Only STQC & CERT-IN Empanelled Company in india .jpg added
Actions #3

Updated by Marius BÄ‚LTEANU 6 months ago

  • File deleted (Only STQC & CERT-IN Empanelled Company in india .jpg)
Actions #4

Updated by Mischa The Evil 6 months ago

  • Status changed from New to Closed
  • Resolution set to Fixed
Actions

Also available in: Atom PDF