Patch #27009

Clarify consequences of disabling the login_required setting

Added by Holger Just about 1 month ago. Updated 9 days ago.

Status:NewStart date:
Priority:NormalDue date:
Assignee:-% Done:

0%

Category:UI
Target version:4.1.0

Description

When an administrator disabled the login_required setting and/or sets projects as public, this can have grave consequences for the protection of the data in-house projects. If this is done carelessly, confidential data might be exposed to undesired audiences (e.g. the global unauthenticated internet).

The attached patches try to make the consequences of these settings clearer by making them more prominent and explain their consequences to the user. This helps admins and project managers make the correct decisions.

We use these patches on Planio where all accounts require authentication by default. But even for "older" Redmine installations which might have some internal public projects it might still be surprising that they are suddenly public when not enforcing authentication anymore.

History

#1 Updated by Jan from Planio www.plan.io about 1 month ago

  • Description updated (diff)
  • Target version set to Candidate for next minor release

#2 Updated by Go MAEDA about 1 month ago

  • Target version changed from Candidate for next minor release to 4.1.0

I think this patch is very valuable because sometimes I find a Redmine instance which unintentionally exposes internal projects on the internet. This patch can prevent users from making such inappropriate settings.

I am setting target version to 4.1.0.

#3 Updated by Toshi MARUYAMA 9 days ago

  • Description updated (diff)

Also available in: Atom PDF